Kids RUN your life

And they do and it’s amazing, it really is. I can unashamedly tell you that my son is the greatest out there.

BUT (it’s a big one) he just doesn’t seem to care about my passion for running. I’ve tried talking about it but he just ignores me or mumbles something incoherent in response.

He’s only 6 months old though so I suppose he might grow into it.

4 hour training runs, well they are out – replaced by ill fated attempts to read books together. Seriously ‘1000 books before kindergarten’ suggested by some sadistic spinster.

Nightly tempo run anyone? well I’m now as likely to back winners at the Unicorn Derby.

YET I must make this work! So like many a brave/foolhardy runner before me I have taken that bold step of entering an event, only to realise it is very soon and then started desperately training.

For me this next adventure will be the Eungella Trail Run. Tres excited for this, as I have just moved to Mackay in Tropical North QLD, and this appears to be one of few organised trail runs in the region.

A 21k lovely, it’s a champion distance. Long enough to at some point during the event make me question whether I have prepared enough and to regret every recent beer; but short enough not to swallow an entire day in run/recovery. However, Houston we do have a problem, or two:

  • my aforementioned selfish son doesn’t support a pre determined training schedule, evidenced by the replacement activities of weeks past.

  • Mackay is hotter than the sun. Quite the shift from frosty fell runs in the UK!


More on beating the heat next time.

 

4 thoughts on “Kids RUN your life

  1. I understand you pain with the heat. I live in North Carolina where from May till October it is 80 F (we aren’t smart enough for the metric system here) degrees and a 100 percent humidity at dawn.

    Like

  2. DoRunnersPooInTheWoods

    My mind has glossed over the difficulties of runnjng in the British summer…. Is that because we don’t have one 🤔…. and my rain soaked body is crying out for a little warmth. In sure I will quickly reevaluate that opinion when Uk temperatures hit the summer highs of 15 degrees 😀

    Good luck with your training

    Like

Leave a Reply

